Convert old taillights to LED; with standlight and no work…

While I’ve seen LED replacement bulbs that might work in old french taillights like this one…

I’ve never seen a replacement bulb with a standlight. I am somewhat paranoid about being rear ended while waiting to take a left turn, so I appreciate a rear standlight.

I know that others have taken the guts of a B&M LED taillight and inserted them into their custom made or antique chassis, but that can really turn into a project; plus you end up gutting a beautiful old light or spending a lot on a custom chassis.

Then I saw this:

It looks like this will pop right in old taillights, could be pretty bright, and provide a standlight. Looks too good to be true.

Unfortunately I can’t find these anywhere in the U.S. and while there is a German eBay store that sells them, they not only won’t ship to the U.S., but you can’t use a U.S. eBay account to, say, ship them to a friend in Europe. Currently, I don’t know anyone in Europe that I could ask to purchase these so I am a bit out off luck.

I would love to hear if anyone has these or has any other info regarding using them with classic taillights.

5 Responses to “Convert old taillights to LED; with standlight and no work…”


  1. 1 Ben January 8, 2010 at 8:07 am

    Have you tried contacting the seller directly? I also have one of those Luxor lights I’d like to convert to LED & use.

  2. 2 bennobelhumeur January 8, 2010 at 11:02 am

    I have actually. They won’t ship to the U.S. Maybe if we made a bulk order, but not sure there is much of a demand.

  3. 3 Yann January 29, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    i will be in france this summer, i could possibly make an order. And gives me an excuse to finely get that rear JOS or Luxor light.

    -yann
    yannGS@Gmail.com

    • 4 bennobelhumeur January 29, 2010 at 5:30 pm

      I currently have a lead that might produce a couple of these. I will post a review of them, if it works out. If not, that would be great. Maybe I will write to Chris K. to see if he might be interested in importing these.

  4. 5 Yann January 29, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    I was thinking of sending Chris K a message as well. If were lucky maybe down the line there will be a headlight LED with a standlight as well.


Leave a Reply

Categories


