LED Replacement Bulbs: SCORE!!!

A friend’s mom lives in Germany and was good enough to purchase these for me. The taillight with standlight works great and is much brighter than the standard bulb that came with my old Radios taillight. The replacement front lights (no standlight) are the wrong base type, however, for my Lumotec:

The headlight replacement bulb has the same size base as the Lumotec bulb, but it is the type with two bumps on the base. The Lumotec bulb has a slightly wider shoulder, with a small notch in it. I ground off the bumps on the LED replacement and now it fits and works great. It seems to be much brighter than the halogen bulb, though it may lose a little of the focus. It is not nearly as bright or well focused as my Edelux however.

It is the taillight that I am stoked about, though. My initial impression is that this is brighter than an old school taillight, but not as bright as some of the newer Busch and Muller taillights out there. The standlight lasts as long as on my factory LED taillights. I will try and post some comparison shots.

2 Responses to “LED Replacement Bulbs: SCORE!!!”


  1. 1 Yann February 20, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    were higher watt front LED’s not available?

    I guess I will try my hand at ordering some myself this summer when I am in france again.


Leave a Reply

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

